Skip To Main Content


In 2003, Texas A&M University established two university-level awards for excellence in teaching. Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence honorees keep the designation for the rest of their careers and receive a one-time, after-tax stipend of $25,000.

All faculty – regardless of professional track or teaching level – are eligible for these awards. Each academic unit on the College Station campus, the Center for Teaching Excellence, the Student Government Association and the Graduate and Professional Student Government may submit one nominee. The nominating units may determine their own nominee selection processes and should communicate these procedures throughout their units.

Selection Committee Makeup

The speaker of the Faculty Senate serves as the chair of the Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence selection committee. The executive director of the Center for Teaching Excellence serves as a permanent voting member and the rest of the committee consists of representatives from five randomly-selected colleges/schools each year. Each college/school invites committee members who themselves exemplify excellence in teaching, including - but not limited to - previous winners of this award.