Skip To Main Content

The Southeastern Conference (SEC) Faculty Achievement Awards honor those with outstanding records in both teaching and research, who also serve as mentors for students and/or junior faculty members. To qualify for the award, an individual’s scholarly contribution or discoveries must be such that the faculty member has been acknowledged by colleagues within the discipline nationally or internationally. An SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner is selected by each university, which qualifies them for consideration as SEC Professor of the Year.

The SEC Presidents and Chancellors established this program to recognize the extraordinary accomplishments of faculty at SEC universities in 2010.

Selection Committee Makeup

The SEC Provosts comprise the selection committee charged with choosing the SEC Professor of the Year from the pool of campus SEC Faculty Achievement Award winners.