Scroll back to the top

Faculty Affairs Council

Faculty Affairs Council

An advisory board to Faculty Affairs and Associate Provost, Faculty Affairs Council primarily focuses on operations and procedures regarding faculty issues throughout the university. They provide overall direction, priority setting, and guidance for process improvement and development of new initiatives and programming. At their meetings the council discusses academic policies, implementation strategies, best practices, and other issues related to faculty advancement, promotion, excellence, climate, diversity, and equity.

Faculty Affairs Council is composed of one executive associate dean or associate dean from each college, who has direct responsibilities related to faculty development, hiring, grievances, tenure and promotion, and/or faculty diversity, climate, and inclusion.

The council meets on the second Wednesday of each month.

College Representatives

Patricia Klein
Executive Associate Dean
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
patricia.klein@tamu.edu
Shannon VanZandt
Executive Associate Dean
College of Architecture
svanzandt@arch.tamu.edu

Frank Ashley, III
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Bush School of Government and Public Service  
fashley@tamu.edu

Kathy Svoboda
Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
College of Dentistry
ksvoboda@tamu.edu

Fred Nafukho
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
College of Education and Human Development  
fnafukho@tamu.edu

N.K. Anand 
Executive Associate Dean
College of Engineering
nkanand@tamu.edu

Christian Brannstrom
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
College of Geosciences
cbrannst@geog.tamu.edu

Huyen Pham
Associate Dean for Faculty Research and Development
School of Law
hpham@law.tamu.edu

Violet Johnson  
Associate Dean for Faculty
College of Liberal Arts
vmjohnson@tamu.edu

Sorin Sorescu
Interim Executive Associate Dean
Mays Business School  
ssorescu@tamu.edu

Jane Welsh
Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
College of Medicine
c-welsh@tamu.edu

Susan McLennon
Executive Associate Dean
College of Nursing
sue.mclennon@tamu.edu

Mansoor Khan
Vice Dean
College of Pharmacy  
mkhan@tamu.edu

Lisako Jones-McKyer
Senior Associate Dean for Climate and Diversity
School of Public Health
lisako.mckyer@tamu.edu

Mark Zoran
Executive Associate Dean
College of Science
mjzoran@tamu.edu

Jonathan Levine
Department Head and Professor
College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
jml15@tamu.edu

Carol Bunch-Davis
Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs
Texas A&M University at Galveston  
bunch-davis@tamu.edu

Ioannis Economou
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Texas A&M University at Qatar
ioannis.economou@tamu.edu

Tina Budzise-Weaver
Interim Associate Dean of Faculty Services
University Libraries
tmweaver@library.tamu.edu