Scroll back to the top

Dean of Faculties Faculty Affairs Logo - TAMU

Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence Award


In 2003, Texas A&M University established two university-level awards for excellence in teaching. These Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence awards carry a one-time, after-tax stipend of $25,000 in addition to salary. Each honoree bears the designation Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence for the remainder of his or her career.

All members of the faculty – whether tenured, tenure track, or academic professional track, and who teach either undergraduate and graduate students, or both – are eligible for these awards. Each college on the College Station campus, the Center for Teaching Excellence, Student Government Association and the Graduate and Professional Student Government may each submit one nominee. The nominating units may determine their own processes for selection of nominees, and should communicate these procedures widely throughout their units.
Call for NominationsCurrent GuidelinesNomination Template  

Selection Committee Makeup

The selection committee is chaired by the Speaker of the Faculty Senate. The Executive Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence serves as a permanent voting member, and the rest of the committee is made up of representatives from five randomly selected colleges each year. Colleges are encouraged to invite committee members who exemplify teaching excellence, including, but not limited to, previous winners of this award.