Scroll back to the top

Regents Professor Award


The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents established the Regents Professor Award program in 1996. Each year, the Board of Regents of the Texas A&M University System honors individuals at the rank of professor or equivalent whose distinguished performance in teaching, research, and service has been exemplary. The award is the highest honor bestowed by the A&M System on faculty members. Faculty honored with this award demonstrate meritorious performance and hold achievements which impact not only their institutions or agencies, but also the community, the state of Texas, and/or the national and international community. This award is for faculty within the nine A&M System institutions (including Galveston campus), the System Health Science Center, and the Agricultural and Engineering Programs.
2022 Guidelines 

Selection Committee Makeup

A review/selection committee shall be appointed by the local faculty governance structure with the concurrence of the university president or program vice chancellor. It is recommended that the review/selection committee include a past Regents Professor recipient to serve as an ex-officio representative.
The appointed committee will review the nomination packets and may interview candidates along with on- and off-campus peers. Nominees who have joint appointments within the university/agency will require review and approval by the CEO of each university/agency. From those nominations, the committee will select a limited number of finalists and make its recommendation to the appropriate CEO through the office of the chief academic officer and/or vice chancellor. Following the review and concurrence by the CEO, or each CEO in the case of joint appointments, final nominee(s) will be notified and a formal nomination packet will be prepared for submission to the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. This requires the final nominee(s) to submit a more comprehensive set of materials noted in step II — the System Nomination Packet.

  Selection Committee List